Tag: gluten free foods

What Has Gluten in It? 12 Surprising Food Sources

What Has Gluten in It? 12 Surprising Food Sources

A protein found in wheat, barley, and rye, gluten comes in many guises. It can be a filler, a binder, a thickener, and even a protein enhancer. So what has gluten in it? Some answers might catch you off guard. Did you know, for example, that soup, sushi, ice cream, and

9. Special Health Concerns

If you have special health conditions, like food sensitivities, cardiovascular disease, or diabetes, does standard dietary advice apply to you? Yes and no. It’s true that most of the information in this report, as well as in the Dietary Guidelines for Americans, is general and geared toward people with no

4. Diseases and Disorders of the Stomach

The stomach, which lies on the upper left side of the abdomen, is where the digestive process begins. The stomach and its walls are made of layers of mucous membrane, connective tissue, and muscle fibers. The average stomach is about a liter in volume when empty (this varies depending on

The Facts about Gluten-Free Eating

The gluten-free foods market has exploded in the past decade. It is important for people following or considering a gluten-free diet to know the facts.

Gluten Sensitivities: Gluten refers to a family of proteins found in wheat, barley, rye, and triticale. Gluten proteins give dough its elasticity. For the approximately one

3. Whole-Grain Superfoods

Whole grains are a top source of complex, unrefined carbohydrates (carbs) that provide your body with a slowly released, steady supply of energy. The Dietary Guidelines for Americans recommend getting at least half of your grain servings from whole grains, which is three daily servings of whole grains for the

Celiac Disease Diet: Your Gluten-Free Planning Guide

Celiac Disease Diet: Your Gluten-Free Planning Guide

Keeping a strict celiac disease diet—avoiding all foods that contain wheat, rye, or barley—is essential for those with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity. People on a gluten-free diet can eat a well-balanced menu with a wide variety of foods. Unprocessed meat, fish, rice, fruits, and vegetables do not contain

Celiac Disease: For Travelers, It Demands Advance Planning

Celiac Disease: For Travelers, It Demands Advance Planning

The thought of dealing celiac disease for travelers can be daunting. Anxiety about meal planning and being away from the safety of home kitchens can often deter people from hopping in the car or boarding a plane and exploring a new city. All it takes is a little extra planning and effort.

What Foods Have Gluten?

For anyone with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity, it is important to learn what foods have gluten and to avoid all foods that contain it. But, learning which foods contain gluten is not as easy and clear-cut as you might think. Here’s a quick reference guide to use on your

×
Enter Your Log In Credentials
This setting should only be used on your home or work computer.

×
×

Please Log In

You are trying to access subscribers-only content. If you are a subscriber, use the form below to log in.

Subscribers will have unlimited access to the magazine that helps people live more sustainable, self-reliant lives, with feature stories on tending the garden, managing the homestead, raising healthy livestock and more!

This setting should only be used on your home or work computer.

×

Please Log In

You are trying to access subscribers-only content. If you are a subscriber, use the form below to log in.

Subscribers will have unlimited access to the magazine that helps the small-scale poultry enthusiast raise healthy, happy, productive flocks for eggs, meat or fun - from the countryside to the urban homestead!

This setting should only be used on your home or work computer.