It’s a common question for anyone with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity: What does gluten-free mean? Unfortunately, in spite of the FDA’s gluten-free food labeling regulations becoming final in August 2014, there are still plenty of pitfalls that gluten-free consumers, especially those with gluten allergy symptoms, can fall into when
Tag: gluten free flour
If you’ve just been told that you or a family member has celiac disease, or even if you suspect a gluten intolerance, it’s likely your head is spinning with information overload.
Fortunately, it’s never been easier for those with a celiac disease diagnosis to embark on a special-diet lifestyle. Follow these
The folklore. Amaranth, a less well-known grain than some of its cousins, has been steadily climbing out from obscurity and reclaiming its ancient glory. This native of Peru was as much a staple crop as corn to the pre-Colombian Aztecs, who used it both as food and in religious ceremonies.
Mike and Mary are young marrieds who share more than a household. Mike has celiac disease and Mary has both gluten intolerance and lactose intolerance.
But they have more in common than just an aversion to gluten and their gluten-free diet regimen.
“We absolutely crave bread,” says Mary from her prim
The egg has a long culinary history because of its usefulness in leavening, binding, structure, and texture. Eggs provide the stickiness that’s required for baked goods. The protein in the egg provides structure and the fat provides textural moistness. The science of baking involves creating an end product that will
Keeping a strict celiac disease diet—avoiding all foods that contain wheat, rye, or barley—is essential for those with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity. People on a gluten-free diet can eat a well-balanced menu with a wide variety of foods. Unprocessed meat, fish, rice, fruits, and vegetables do not contain
Rice popular grain is ubiquitous in the gluten-free diet. And rice flour, both white and brown, is the standard ingredient in most commercial gluten-free baked goods and gluten-free flour blends. That’s good to know if you have gluten intolerance symptoms.
So if you’re asking yourself, “Is rice gluten free?”—the answer is
Understanding requirements of a gluten-free diet will enable anyone newly diagnosed with celiac disease or gluten allergy symptoms to read labels of food products and determine whether a product is gluten-free. Therefore, it’s important to have a quick-start guide to celiac disease.
Celiac disease is a life-long genetic disorder affecting children
It’s a common question among people with celiac disease: “Is buckwheat gluten free?” Despite its name, buckwheat is not a wheat. It’s a grain (actually, a seed) that is not related to wheat at all. Instead, it’s a fruit from the Polygonaceae family, which also includes rhubarb and sorrel. As